Special Needs Preschool Eligibility
  • Preschool Special Education at the Preakness Early Childhood Center

    Preschool special education services are available for children ages 3-5 with disabilities or delays in development that affect learning. These services which include transportation are provided free of charge to eligible children only. To be eligible for special education services in preschool, a child must be between 3-5 years old and have a 33% delay in one area or a 25% delay in two or more of the following areas: physical, cognitive, communication, social/emotional, and adaptive. Additionally, the child must require special education and related services per N.J.A.C. 6A:14-3.5 (c) (10). 

     

    Resources:


    Important Contacts:

    Principal Dr. Jessica Hammond

    jhammond@wayneschools.com

    973-968-7400

     

    Secretary Ms. Sheri-Ann Palmieri 

    spalmieri@wayneschools.com                 

    973-968-7400 

     

    Nurse  Mrs. Brienne Trignano 

    btrignano@wayneschools.com          

    973-968-7400 ext. 2

     

    Child Study Team:

    Dr. Jessica Haftek, School Psychologist

    jhaftek@wayneschools.com

    973-968-7400 ext 2680

     

    Ms. Amanda Tretiak, Speech & Language Pathologist     

    atretiak@wayneschools.com      

    973-968-7400 ext. 2681

     

    Mrs. Deb Patalita. Learning Disabilities Teaching Consultant         

    dpatalita@wayneschools.com     

    973-968-7400 ext. 2682

     

    Mrs. Gianna Dicristina, School Social Worker

    gdicristina@wayneschools.com   

    973-968-7400 ext. 2683

     

    Transportation          WTPS_transportation@wayneschools.com                                     973-633-3139 x10